I had lunch with a friend of mine who is in the insurance industry and one of the topics we discussed was Washington States proposition to allow claimants to receive triple damages for insurance companies that pay too little or take forever to pay. See my previous post.

It shouldn’t be any surprise that he will be voting against it. I on the other hand will be voting for it. Here is a brief explanation why he is against it…

A dentist in Seattle was doing some surgery on his assistant. While she was under anesthesia he implanted wild boar tusks in her mouth, took pictures and the removed them and finished the surgery. Sounds incredible? Here are the Google results for the case.

At a party he circulated the pictures and some of the other employees showed the assistant the pictures. Needless to say she was horrified and sued. She was awarded $250,000.

The dentists’ insurance company refused to defend him. He turned around and sued his insurance company for $750,000 for NOT representing him in the case. He won! The insurance company appealed and the award was overturned. He appealed to the State Supreme Court and the original verdict was upheld.

I am not one to champion insurance companies, however, I do believe that they were in the right to refuse him coverage.

I will write a post explaining how insurance is supposed to work.

###END###

To learn what Pre-Paid Legal Service’s Membership plans are available in your area visit my Pre-Paid Legal website.

I am not an attorney, therefore, do not take anything in any of my posts as legal advice. In any legal situation, as in a medical situation, always consult a professional.

The posts on this blog are only intended to provide the reader with information on how and in what circumstances they may use their Pre-Paid Legal Services, Inc. membership.

I am not an employee of Pre-Paid Legal Services, Inc. I am an Independent Associate.