I guess I am on a roll with my legal situations when I was in the military…

When I was stationed in San Diego, California I bought my first car. Well, truck. It was a black Chevy S-10 4×4 Pickup with a Vortec V-6. It was a wonderful truck – lots of great memories 4 wheeling at the end of “The Strand”.

Of course, to get the truck, I had to get a loan. Since my unit was frequently out of town for extended periods of time I opened an account with the bank and set up my pay to be direct deposited. I then set up my loan to be automatically withdrawn from the bank. Sounds like a great deal.

Somewhere along the line the bank didn’t take out a payment and the truck was repossessed while I was not in town. The company smashed the driver side window to get in. I received no notice. I managed to scrape up enough money to pay the truck off, pay off the repossession company and get the window fixed.

About a year after I left the military I heard in the news that the bank was being brought up on charges of defrauding members of the military. Being young at the time and not able to afford an attorney I brushed the whole thing off as “one of those things”.

Since then I have learned that there are a lot of companies out there that prey on our military due to the fact that they are young, inexperienced and generally believe that businesses are our friends. The truth is, that while most won’t take advantage of our servicemen and women, there are those that do and you never know which is which until something happens.

If, at the time, I had a Pre-Paid Legal membership all I would have had to do would have been to call my attorney and probably would not have been out all of the money for the repossession and the broken window. I don’t think I could have gotten out of the truck payments though.

To learn what plans are available in your area visit my Pre-Paid Legal website.

I am not an attorney, therefore, do not take anything in any of my posts as legal advice. In any legal situation, as in a medical situation, always consult a professional.

The posts on this blog are only intended to provide the reader with information on how and in what circumstances they may use their Pre-Paid Legal Services, Inc. membership.

I am not an employee of Pre-Paid Legal Services, Inc. I am an Independent Associate.